Return to home page (of whole site)
Ordering Music
About Adlais
Contacting Adlais
Click here for an index of Adlais Music set in ABRSM, LCM & Trinity Music Exams
Return to Catalogue home page
View Index of new editions and new publications Return to Catalogue home page
Exercises and Sudies
View our scores for solo harp
View our scores for two harps
View our scores for flute and harp
view our scores for voice and harp
View our scores for Harp & Other Instrument
Browse the rest of our web site
Harps and Harpists
Lady Llanover
Web Site Designer


Find us on Facebook
Four Romances
No. 1 The Tear

John Thomas Pencerdd Gwalia (1826-1913)
return to previous page

Cover image Work: Single work for solo harp
Catalogue No: Adlais 050
ISMN: 979-0-57032-015-8
Edition: October 2005, A4 stapled
Suitable for: Grade 6, Pedal Harp
Price:: £6.00  Go to shop
See all Adlais Publications including transcriptions by John Thomas

The Four Romances were inspired, respectively, by quotations from Byron, Moore, Lalla Rookh and Goldsmith. All four were composed in 1854. Having heard John Thomas play in March of that year, Hector Berlioz wrote:

Les morceaux composés par M. Thomas sont d'une remarquable élévation de style. Il m'a charmé, fasciné, magnetisé. Si j'étais riche, comme je me donnerais le luxe d'avoir un tel virtuose pour bercer mes tristes heures et me faire oublier le monde réel.

Front cover of the score

Sample of the music