Return to home page (of whole site)
Ordering Music
About Adlais
Contacting Adlais
Click here for an index of Adlais Music set in ABRSM, LCM & Trinity Music Exams
Return to Catalogue home page
View Index of new editions and new publications Return to Catalogue home page
Exercises and Sudies
View our scores for solo harp
View our scores for two harps
View our scores for flute and harp
view our scores for voice and harp
View our scores for Harp & Other Instrument
Browse the rest of our web site
Harps and Harpists
Lady Llanover
Web Site Designer


Find us on Facebook
Il Papagallo
Souvenir of Naples (Op. 85)

Elias Parish Alvars (1808-1849)
return to previous page

Cover image Work: Single work for solo harp
Catalogue No: Adlais 136
ISMN: 979-57032-124-7
Edition: 2007 A4 stapled
Duration: c. 4' 00" minutes
Suitable for: Grade 6, Pedal Harp
Price:: £7.00  Go to shop
See all Adlais Publications by Elias Parish Alvars
Sérénade (Op. 83)

Parish Alvars spent the winter of 1843-1844 in Naples, and his impressions of the ambience and the typical sights and sounds of that vibrant Mediterranean city are reflected in the series of three pieces he composed there. The Serenade (op. 83) and the brilliant Grand Study in imitation of the Mandoline (op.84) both of which are well known and have figured in the Adlais catalogue for many years. In 2007 Adlais added the genuinely amusing Souvenir of Naples – Il Papagallo (op.85) with its witty characterisation of a pet Neapolitan parrot to the catalogue.

All three pieces were originally published in Italy, but the present engraving of this delightfully ‘different’ music is based on the nineteenth century London edition made by John Thomas, Harpist to Queen Victoria. It was completely re-set in 2007 for its Adlais edition.

Performed by Ben Creighton Griffiths (10th World Harp Congress, Amsterdam, 2008)

Front cover of the score

Sample of the music